With the Hide Viewed Questions option enabled, once students have returned to their started assessments, any questions they viewed before saving and exiting will display with a locked icon and this message: “This question has already been submitted.”
Students cannot change answers to any locked questions; they cannot even look at the questions and answers. Questions they answered prior to the save will appear locked with an orange outline, and questions they viewed without answering will appear locked with a gray outline.
Any remaining questions that have not yet been viewed will be accessible to students.
This option is highly recommended as it prevents students from researching answers to their questions and returning later to submit the correct answers. This also helps ensure assessment integrity, especially since there is no limit to the number of times a student can save the assessment.
Keep in mind that each assessment has a time limit. The Save and Exit feature essentially pauses the timer when students click the Save and Exit button, and they will be allowed to pick up right where they left off. For example, if a student saves a test and has 25 minutes left to complete it, when he or she returns to the test, the timer will start counting down at 25 minutes.